Saturday, December 4, 2010
Then why did you give her up in the first place?
So today we royally pissed some people off. Back in February a lady surrenders a cat, says she just can't take care of her. So we take the cat in, vaccinate, fortunately already spayed. The cat is a dilute calico, been exposed to both cats and dogs, which is a benefit, should make her more adoptable. Well, several months go by and the cat isn't adopted, it happens. The lady that "couldn't take care of her", comes in on occassion to see if she is adopted, no big deal, or so it seems at the time. Well things start to change with the cat (Bella), as the previous owner begins to come in on a regular basis to visit. First Bella experiences hair loss, I explain it could be stress or it is possible that there was a fight within the cat room. Apparently, the previous owener continues to come in and harrass the shelter employees because Bella isn't adopted and she seems stressed out. It's a shelter, you didn't want your cat, what do you expect? We have a vet come in every two weeks to examine the shelter animals, if there was an issue, it would be addressed. This harrassment apparently goes on mulitple times over several months with various employees. Well today, Iwas there. We allow the previous owner to visit with Bella, apparently a mistake. "She's depressed, she's losing weight, she's been here nine months", I explained that some cats will be with us for between a year and two years before they are adopted. If the previous owner really gave a flying shit, she would have kept and cared for Bella. Today they tried to "demand" that someone would bring in a can of food a day because she has lost 10 pounds. Really? I'm sure I didn't see you carry a scale into the visiting room and our vet surely would have alerted us to a weight loss issue. Anyway, the last straw was when I was standing at the front of the center and overheard them ranting to a potential adopter on how we "didn't take care of the animal", "she has lost 10 pounds", "you can feel every bone in her body", "don't adopt from here". Really? Are you an idiot? You are discouraging the very person that may want to take care of the animal YOU ABANDONED 9 MONTHS AGO YOU RAVING BITCH! Ultimately, we called security and had the people removed, indicating they were no longer welcome at the shelter. Of course, THAT is the time they wanted Bella, and THAT was the time they were DENIED. I am sorry but if you loved Bella, you would have cared for Bella for her life, NOT turned her over to a shelter where she may spend the rest of her days because YOU ABANDONED HER. Not only that, she wanted her donated food back. Which was funny, because one of our customers took the food, followed her and security to her car and threw it at her. She of course is calling the news and everyone else on us, which we welcome. Any publicity is welcomed publicity in my mind. I hate people.....
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
IDIOTS people are idiots! They try to make us be the bad guys when they are the ones that aren't getting off their lazy asses to help the animals. All they do is add to the problem and then bitch at us. Whatever!
ReplyDeleteYeah and she immdiatly slandered us online. I will be posting the link sometime today. We were of course supposed to expect the wrath of the news and the APL!
ReplyDelete