Tuesday, November 30, 2010

So what do you say to that?

So I just got off the phone with our vet, I really need some people skills sometimes.  I don't do well with blubbering and people fishing for compliments or ego boosters, can't do it.  What happened was we got a call at the rescue about a dog that was adopted from us several months ago.  Well the dog was originally adopted from us as a puppy, brough back and eventually adopted out as an adult.  The dog was supposed to have been spayed, had the scar and everything.  How is it then that the dog went in heat?  So of course, we bring the dog in to have spayed, no charge of course.  She spends the night and is released the next day.  The family then calls into our emergency line, Jazzy stopped breathing and although the family administered CPR, she did not survive.  While I am saddened and sympathize for the family, this could not have been predicted and I don't feel the resue should be blamed.  I mean we can say to the original vet "you never spayed this dog", but then what?  We did the right thing by going ahead and ensuring the spay occurred at our expense, so now what?  Comments anyone?

A trip to the pound....

Once again we are called to the Cleveland Kennel to pick up a pit mom and her 6 newborn puppies.  She is beautiful!  Can't be over 6-8 months, probably her first heat.  She's blue and amazing!  But why stop there?  We always make the mistake of walking the rows, how do you pick?  Well, sure enough, we walk out with a mom so pregnant the milk is already present.  She is labeled a pit, but of course, she has four legs and fur so she must be.  Good thing we got there today when we did though, apparently moms and pups were going to be euthanized.  You see the APLs of the world wouldn't dream of saving a pit, too much "liability", too hard to adopt.  Well no shit, that's kind of the point of rescue isn't it?  Ah well, so we have a mom we can't spay for at least 6 weeks, pups we can't alter for at least 8 weeks and a mom that hasn't even delivered.  Our rescues are rarely take in, vet and find a home.  First we have to nourish them, raise them, socialize them, provide veterinary care, all just to hear ass holes bitch about adoption fees because adopting should be cheap if not free.  I really want to smack someone.  By the time these babies get a chance at adoption we will be so frickin' attached, no one will ever seem good enough for them anyway.  What the hell?!  Hopefully this batch produces tears of joy and not pain....